2010 Tour of Britain

The 2010 Tour of Britain will take place over eight days from 11 September, beginning in Rochdale, finishing in east London on 18 September. Because of a clash with the Pope's visit to London, the centre of the city is out of bounds to the race on the orders of the police and security services. Instead, on the final stage riders will face a circuit of the London borough of Newham, site of the 2012 Olympic Games.

96 cyclists and 16 teams are scheduled to compete.

Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex are included for the first time and Wales is being visited for the first time since the event's revival in 2004. The Tour's technical director, Michael Bennett said " We are delighted to be bringing the race back into Wales this year and look forward to a tough stage into Swansea. On the way from the Grand Depart to the final stage in London, riders will face tough routes and intense competition, while taking in some breathtaking views of our wonderful country".

Stages of the 2010 Tour of Britain

  • Stage 1 - Rochdale to Blackpool 78 miles (126 km), Saturday, 11th September 2010
    Stage 2 - Stoke-on-Trent 100 miles (160 km), Sunday, September 12, 2010
    Stage 3 - Newtown to Swansea 93 miles (150 km), Monday, September 13, 2010
    Stage 4 - Minehead to Teignmouth 106 miles (171km), Tuesday, September 14, 2010
    Stage 5 - Tavistock to Glastonbury 109 miles (176 km), Wednesday, September 15, 2010
    Stage 6 - King's Lynn to Great Yarmouth 117 miles (189 km), Thursday, September 16, 2010
    Stage 7 - Bury St Edmunds to Colchester 94 miles (151km), Friday, September 17, 2010
    Stage 8 - London 62 miles (100 km), Saturday, September 18, 2010

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a cycling coach?